Château Villenouvette - BARSALOU Family & Estates

Français
contact
Facebook
Instagram
Go to content
Facebook
Instagram
CHÂTEAU VILLENOUVETTE
Villa Noveta
Located at the foot of hills covered with garrigue scrubland, between the villages of Névian and Ornaisons, the estate of Villenouvette forms a vineyard of 100 hectares on the right bank of the river Orbieu. This capricious tributary of the river Aude has shaped alluvial terraces and limestone hills for over 130,000 years. The stony plots that stretch between the fertile plain and the arid ridges swept by the tramontane offer ideal conditions for cultivating traditional Languedoc grape varieties such as Carignan and Grenache. On the edge of the river Orbieu, the cooler and deeper soil allows the feet of Merlot and Pinot Noir to flourish under the Mediterranean sunshine. As the harvest approaches, the solar heat accumulated during the day by the pebbles on the surface of the soil is returned during the night, thus accelerating the ripening of the fruit. Thanks to its semi-buried architecture, the winery, built on the hillside, allows gravitational wine-making and ageing of wines at an optimal temperature.
Écartelé, en 1 et en 4 : d’argent à trois aiglettes éployées de gueules, becquées, membrées d’or ; en 2 et en 3 : d’or aux sept roses de gueules. Sur le tout, de gueules au lion d’or.
Domaine de Villenouvette
Chemin d'Ornaisons
11200 Névian
History
According to archives, the existence of the estate is first mentioned in the 12th century, under the name of Villa Noveta. This former property of the Benedictine monks of Saint-Chinian was acquired in 1175 by the Cistercian community of the Rieunette abbey. Under the direction of the nuns of Rieuenette, the estate of Villenouvette enjoyed prosperity for more than 600 years.

During the Revolution, the domain was nationalised and declared property of the district of Narbonne. Sold in 1791 to a leading family of the region, the old monastic domain was gradually transformed while viticulture took an increasingly important place. The old convent building was demolished in 1860 to make way for the current château (completed in 1870). After the phylloxera crisis, the increase in winemaking activity meant the need for construction of a new winery by the end of the 19th century. During the 20th century, the estate changed ownership several times and went through various periods of opulence and difficulty following changes and crises encountered by Languedoc viticulture.

In 1982, the Barsalou family took over the vineyard and the winery of Château Villenouvette with the aim of developing the production of quality red wines. The improvement of winemaking tools was followed from the 2010s by the restoration of the built and landscaped heritage of the site, currently under renovation.
Le château de Villenouvette au siècle dernier
Château Villenouvette
Les Balmades
"Les Balmades" is a temporary brook that runs along the southern border of Château Villenouvette’s vineyard. It flows from limestone hills to the Orbieu river. A large part of our plots classified as area of protected origin (A.O.P.) are situated along this stream. Its name comes from the Occitan "balmada" which means scree. The hillside vines grown to make this wine are deeply rooted in a very mineral soil composed of calcareous colluvium and alluvium dating from the last ice ages.

The Balmades cuvée is a blend of Carignan noir, Syrah and Grenache noir. This supple and balanced wine with aromas of wild berries and spices is an ideal accompaniment for red meat or poultry.
Syrah - Château Villenouvette
Château Villenouvette - Les Balmades
Shop now
VINTAGE : 2019
CERTIFICATION : A.O.P. Corbières
A.B.V. : 14 % vol.
VOLUME : 75 cL
CLOSURE : wooden cork
SOIL
Rounded pebbles, limestone colluvium and subsoil.
VARIETIES
Carignan, Grenache Noir and Syrah.
WINEMAKING
Traditional wine-making method of the destemmed grapes, each variety being vatted separately. 15% of the Carignan noir has been aged in barrels during 12 months before the final blend.
SERVING TEMPERATURE
Beteween 15 °C and 18 °C.
TASTING
EYE : bright crimson
NOSE : floral aromas and fresh scents of berries.
PALATE : full-bodied blend with complex savours of spices and ripe fruits. Delicate tannins and long finish.
WINE & FOOD PAIRING
Roast beef, duck breast with honey.
Château Villenouvette
Cuvée Marcel Barsalou
Powerful wine with dainty ripe fruits flavours, the Cuvée Marcel Barsalou from Château Villenouvette was created to pay tribute to the grandfather of Jean-Yves et Éric Barsalou. A small landowner from a modest background, Marcel, first worked in the local agricultural supplies trade before devoting himself fully to farming and viticulture. With his wife Louise, winegrowers’ daughter, he passed on the love of the land to his descendants.
Marcel Barsalou
Marcel Barsalou (1909 - 1999)
Château Villenouvette - Cuvée Marcel Barsalou
Shop now
VINTAGE : 2017
CERTIFICATION : A.O.P. Corbières
A.B.V. : 14,5 % vol.
VOLUME : 75 cL
CLOSURE : wooden cork
GEOLOGY
Rounded pebbles, limestone colluvium and subsoil.
VARIETIES
Carignan and Syrah.
WINEMAKING
The Carignan noir undergoes a carbonic maceration while the Syrah follows a more classic vinification with destemming. The vatting lasts three weeks. After blending, the alcoholic fermentation ends in oak casks. Aging lasts twelve months.
SERVING TEMPERATURE
Beteween 15 °C and 18 °C.
TASTING
EYE : dark garnet, vermilion at the edge.
NOSE : notes of dry fig, black olive, white pepper. Then, aromas of cherries, currant syrup, chocolate and a hint of nutmeg.
PALATE : soft spices and minerals savors, evolved elements of truffle and coffee with red fruits dominating a long finish.
WINE & FOOD PAIRING
Boar stew, grilled lamb ribs.
AWARDS
Competition of the Independent French Winegrowers 2020
Vintage 2018
Gold medal 🥇
Competition of the Independent French Winegrowers 2019
Vintage 2017
Gold medal 🥇
General Agricultural Competition of Paris 2019
Vintage 2017
Gold medal 🥇
Decanter World Wine Awards 2019
Vintage 2016
Silver medal 🥈 93/100 pts.
Competition of the Independent French Winegrowers 2018
Vintage 2016
Silver medal 🥈
Château Villenouvette
Orbion
For millions of years, the Orbieu river, formerly known as “Orbion”, has shaped limestone slopes. The ancient layers of rounded pebbles offer an ideal soil for the production of great wines. The Carignan and Mourvèdre grapes, carefully harvested by hand for this small batch, are fermented by carbonic maceration. After aging in oak barrels for eighteen months, the blend elegantly reveals the exquisite qualities of the terroir. A generous and long-lasting wine, with fruity aromas and silky tannins, Orbion is a perfect match for the most delicate of dishes.
Château Villenouvette - Orbion
Shop now
VINTAGE : 2017
CERTIFICATION : A.O.P. Corbières
A.B.V. : 14,5 % vol.
VOLUME : 75 cL
CLOSURE : wooden cork
GEOLOGY
Ancient alluvial terraces of rounded pebbles and limestone colluvium.
VARIETIES
Carignan and Mourvèdre.
WINEMAKING
Carbonic maceration is practiced with the Carignan with a vatting of three weeks. After blending the two grape juices, the alcoholic fermentation ends in French oak barrels. Aging in barrels lasts eighteen months
SERVING TEMPERATURE
Between 15 °C and 18 °C.
TASTING
EYE : dark and deep red with purple hues.
NOSE : aromas of prune and licorice, light notes of vanilla.
MOUTH: generous and powerful attack, savours of red fruits and licorice on silky tannins. Long and elegant finish with savours of vanilla and toast.
WINE & FOOD PAIRING
Venison in huntsman sauce, rabbit with mustard.
Importer Connection
Vintage 2017
92/100 points
contact@famillebarsalou.com

🕿 +33 (0)4 68 45 11 19
© LES DOMAINES BARSALOU
14 rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau
11200 Bizanet
FRANCE
contact@famillebarsalou.com
🕿 +33 (0)4 68 45 11 19
© LES DOMAINES BARSALOU
14 rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau
11200 Bizanet FRANCE
Back to content

Château Villenouvette - BARSALOU vins & huile d'olive

English
contact
Facebook
Instagram
Aller au contenu
Facebook
Instagram
CHÂTEAU VILLENOUVETTE
Villa Noveta
Situé au pied de collines couvertes de garrigue entre  les villages de Névian et d'Ornaisons, le domaine de Villenouvette  forme un vignoble de 100 hectares sur la rive droite de la rivière  Orbieu. Cet affluent de l'Aude au cours capricieux façonne depuis plus de 130 000 ans les  terrasses alluviales et les coteaux calcaires. Les parcelles  caillouteuses qui s'étendent entre la plaine fertile et les crêtes  arides balayées par la tramontane offrent des conditions idéales pour la  culture des cépages traditionnels languedociens tels que le carignan et  le grenache. Au bord de l'Orbieu, la terre plus fraîche et profonde  permet aux pieds de merlot et de pinot noir de s'épanouir sous le soleil  méditerranéen. À l'approche des vendanges, la chaleur solaire accumulée  pendant la journée par les galets à la surface du sol, est restituée  durant la nuit accélérant ainsi la maturation des baies. Grâce à son  architecture semi-enterrée, le chai, construit à flanc de coteau, permet  une vinification gravitaire et un élevage des vins à température  optimale.
Écartelé, en 1 et en 4 : d’argent à trois aiglettes éployées de gueules, becquées, membrées d’or ; en 2 et en 3 : d’or aux sept roses de gueules. Sur le tout, de gueules au lion d’or.
Domaine de Villenouvette
Chemin d'Ornaisons
11200 Névian
Histoire
  D'après les archives départementales, l'existence du domaine est attestée dès le XIIème siècle, sous le nom de Villa Noveta. Cette ancienne propriété des moines bénédictins de Saint-Chinian est acquise en 1175 par la communauté cistercienne de l'abbaye de Rieunette. Sous la direction des moniales de Rieuenette, le domaine de Villenouvette connaît une certaine prospérité pendant plus de 600 ans.

  À la Révolution, le domaine est nationalisé et déclaré propriété du district de Narbonne. Vendu en 1791 à une famille de notables de la région, l'ancien domaine monastique est progressivement transformé tandis que la viticulture prend une place de plus en plus importante. L'ancien bâtiment conventuel est démoli en 1860 pour laisser place au château actuel ( achevé en 1870). Après la crise du phylloxéra, l'augmentation de l'activité viticole nécessite à la fin du XIXème siècle l'édification d'un nouveau chai de vinification. Au cours du XXème siècle, le domaine change plusieurs fois de propriétaire et traverse tour à tour diverses périodes d'opulence et de difficulté au gré des mutations et des crises rencontrées par la viticulture languedocienne.

  À partir des années 1980, la famille Barsalou reprend le vignoble et la cave de Château Villenouvette dans l'optique d'y développer la production de vins rouges de qualité. L'amélioration des outils de vinification sera suivie à partir des années 2010 par le lancement de la restauration du patrimoine bâti et paysager du site, encore en cours de rénovation à l'heure actuelle.
Le château de Villenouvette au siècle dernier
Château Villenouvette
Cuvée Marcel Barsalou
Vin puissant aux arômes délicats de fruits mûrs, la Cuvée Marcel Barsalou du Château Villenouvette a été créée pour rendre hommage au grand-père de Jean-Yves et Éric Barsalou. Petit propriétaire terrien d'origine modeste, Marcel a d'abord travaillé dans le commerce local de fournitures agricoles avant de se consacrer pleinement à l'agriculture et à la viticulture. Avec sa femme Louise, fille de vignerons, il a transmis l'amour de la terre à ses descendants.
Marcel Barsalou
Marcel Barsalou (1909 - 1999)
Château Villenouvette - Cuvée Marcel Barsalou
Acheter en ligne sur WineJump
MILLÉSIME : 2016
LABEL : A.O.P. Corbières
T.A.V. : 14 % vol.
CONTENANCE : 75 cL
BOUCHAGE : bouchon en liège
GÉOLOGIE
Anciennes terrases alluviales de galets roulés et colluvions calcaires.
CÉPAGES
carignan et syrah.
VINIFICATION
La macération carbonique est pratiquée sur le carignan tandis que la syrah connaît une vinification plus classique avec égrappage. La cuvaison dure trois semaines. Après l'assemblage, la fermentation alcoolique se termine en fût de chêne français. L'élevage dure douze mois.
TEMPÉRATURE DE SERVICE
Entre 15 °C et 18 °C.
DÉGUSTATION
ŒIL : robe grenat sombre aux bords vermillions.
NEZ : notes de figue sèche, olive noire, poivre blanc. Ensuite, des arômes de cerise , de sirop de groseille, de chocolat et un soupçon de noix de muscade.
BOUCHE : épices douces et saveurs minérales, arômes évolués de truffe et de café avec des notes de fruits rouges dominant une finale longue.
ACCORDS METS & VIN
Civet de sanglier, côtes d'agneau grillées.
RÉCOMPENSES
Concours des Vignerons Indépendants de France 2020
Millésime 2018
Médaille d'or 🥇
Concours des Vignerons Indépendants de France 2019
Millésime 2017
Médaille d'or 🥇
Concours Général Agricole de Paris 2019
Millésime 2017
Médaille d'or🥇
Decanter World Wine Awards 2019
Millésime 2016
Médaille d'argent 🥈 93/100 pts.
Competition of the Independent French Winegrowers 2018
Millésime 2016
Médaille d'argent 🥈
Château Villenouvette
Orbion
Depuis des millions d'années, la rivière Orbieu, anciennement appelée « Orbion », a façonné des coteaux calcaires. Les couches anciennes de galets roulés qui les recouvrent offrent un terroir idéal pour l'élaboration de grands vins. Les raisins de carignan et de mourvèdre, soigneusement récoltés à la main pour cette micro-cuvée, sont fermentés par macération carbonique. Après un vieillissement en fût de chêne pendant dix-huit mois, l'assemblage révèle avec élégance les qualités exquises du terroir. Vin généreux et long en bouche, aux arômes fruités et aux tanins soyeux, Orbion s'accorde parfaitement avec les mets les plus délicats.
Syrah - Château Villenouvette
Château Villenouvette - Orbion
Acheter en ligne sur WineJump
MILLÉSIME : 2017
LABEL : A.O.P. Corbières
T.A.V. : 14,5 % vol.
CONTENANCE : 75 cL
BOUCHAGE : bouchon en liège
GÉOLOGIE
Anciennes terrases alluviales de galets roulés et colluvions calcaires.
CÉPAGES
carignan et mourvèdre.
VINIFICATION
La macération carbonique est pratiquée sur le carignan, récolté à la main tandis que la mourvèdre est égrappé avant la vinification. La cuvaison dure trois semaines. Après l'assemblage, la fermentation alcoolique se termine en fût de chêne français. L'élevage dure en barrique dix-huit mois.
TEMPÉRATURE DE SERVICE
Entre 15 °C et 18 °C.
DÉGUSTATION
ŒIL : rouge sombre et profond avec des nuances pourpres.
NEZ : arômes de pruneau et de réglisse, légèrement vanillé.
BOUCHE : attaque généreuse et puissante, arômes de fruits rouges et de réglisse sur des tannins soyeux. Finale longue et élégante avec des arômes de vanille et de pain grillé.
ACCORDS METS & VIN
Chevreuil à la sauce grand veneur, lapin à la moutarde.
Importer Connection
Millésime 2017
92/100 points
contact@famillebarsalou.com

🕿 +33 (0)4 68 45 11 19
© LES DOMAINES BARSALOU
14 rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau
11200 Bizanet
FRANCE
contact@famillebarsalou.com
🕿 +33 (0)4 68 45 11 19
© LES DOMAINES BARSALOU
14 rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau
11200 Bizanet FRANCE
Retourner au contenu